Julia, A-Level graduate

Julia completed her A-levels in History, Geography and English Literature at Algorithm in 2017. Julia’s dream, to study Global Governance at Tor Vergata University in Rome, Italy, a country she has dreamed of since childhood, came true. Now, Julie is exploring a new country and taking in all that Rome has to offer.

What is your favourite thing about Algorithm?

The teachers are experienced and they helped me even after the lessons. I also enjoyed the location, because it’s in the center and I could go everywhere. I think studying in English gives me more opportunities to work or study in whichever country I choose in the future. I studied in England for 2 years, and wanted to continue my AS levels in Moscow. Apparently, it was a completely new programme, but I was already fairly familiar with it.

What is your favourite subject?

It’s difficult to choose because I like all of them. They all combine the things that I like. They were always my favourite subjects at school too – in Russia and in England.

Julia focused her applications on Italian universities, and was happy to be accepted onto her dream degree – Global Governance at Tor Vergata University in Rome.

When I found out that I had been accepted to my dream university, Tor Vergata, I could not stop jumping and crying for almost 15 minutes! In my childhood, I remember watching American films with teenagers’ reactions to university acceptance letters. At the time, I did not think this would ever happen to me, but, fortunately, it did. I cannot describe how happy I feel about being accepted to this specific university for this course, which focuses on international relations and global economics. After all of the research, interviews and hard work, I can now finally proceed to study something that I really love and make my bachelor degree useful to my future career.

Why Global Governance?

The course covers political, international relationships, as well globalization and business and a bit of public speaking. It combines everything that I like. I want to become part of an international organization and work for the United Nations, but in the beginning, I’d probably work for small organizations and have an internship somewhere. I plan to work in the poverty segment. I’d like to work in Africa and in Russia, because it’s my home country. After being away for 2 years, I’d like to do something for my country. If at first I work at an international level, one day I could try to contribute to my own country, because at the moment I don’t know how to do that.

Tell us about your university application process.

I applied to three universities in Rome. I love the Italian language and I’ve had a passion for Italy since I was very little, maybe six years old, and heard Italian songs and couldn’t stop listening to them. It was my dream to study in Italy. There are only 20 international students and 20 Italian students chosen for the course I was accepted for. At the other universities, I applied for International Relations. There are different universities in Italy; for most of them, you have to apply through the Italian University in Russia. You can only apply to one university. However, if you want to apply to more, you can also apply online directly to some universities. In an online application, you have to send your CV, personal statement, previous marks and previous education, certificates. They will then have an interview with you over Skype and decide.

If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

I guess I would choose the job I described, but in a high position, so that I can actually make my ideas come true. Then, I would like to organize a charity organization in Russia and manage it. I would like to address poverty and low pensions in Russia, and childcare and disease.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years time?

I hate this question! I guess I will have finished my bachelor’s degree, after that I would volunteer somewhere and then work in an organization. I have no idea which country it would be in, and I think that’s great!

What do you enjoy doing outside of your academic life?

I like sports, like ice-skating, roller-skating and dancing. I like dancing to older music, from the 1950s and all the way up to 1990s. I like roller-skating in the summer and spring, because it gives me so much freedom and I feel like I can connect with nature when I roller-skate in parks.

Другие новости Algorithm A*